Seeing as she’s the artist with the most No. 1 hits on the Billboard Hot 100 charts, it should come as little surprise that Mariah Carey has officially been nominated for the 2018 Songwriters Hall of Fame. The singer co-wrote 17 or her 18 No. 1 songs and has been an industry staple for almost 30 years. Jermaine Dupri is also nominated as a non-performing partner for co-writing hits with Carey, including “Always Be My Baby” and “We Belong Together.”


Pioneering rap group N.W.A also earned its first nomination for the Songwriters Hall, months after Jay-Z became the first rapper inducted into the organization as part of its 2017 class, according to Billboard.

Other performing nominees for the 2018 class include John Mellencamp, Tracy Chapman, Alice Cooper, Jimmy Cliff, the Isley Brothers, Chrissie Hynde, Alan Jackson, Kool & the Gang, Tom Waits and Tom T. Hall.

Non-performing nominees include William “Mickey” Stevenson, Bill Anderson, Maurice Starr, Allee Willis, Steve Dorff, Mike Chapman, Randy Goodrum and Tony Macaulay, in addition to Dupri.

Six songwriters, or songwriting groups, will be officially inducted at a gala in New York on June 14.  Voting is open for eligible members until December 17th.

Songwriters are eligible for induction after consistently writing hit songs for at least 20 years.