The 8th annual African American Film Critics Association Awards took place February 9, 2017 in Hollywood, CA and Moonlight was the night’s big winner. The film’s co-star, Janelle Monae took home the Breakout Star award, while writer/director Barry Jenkins was honored with a trophy for Best Picture and Best Director.

On the small screen, the cast of Queen Sugar took home the award for Best TV Drama, while Underground won for best cable series.

AAFCA co-founder Shawn Edwards called 2016 an exceptional year for Black content creators.

“Our members had a plethora of outstanding movies, documentaries and TV shows to choose from this year,” he said in a press release. “It was an exceptional year in terms of the quantity and quality of films about the black experience. And while this by no means solves the diversity issue in the film industry it was definitely refreshing to have such a wide-range of exceptional work to choose from to honor and celebrate with our approval.”