Seems like under President Trump, Americans are about to learn the old saying ‘what’s good for the goose, is good for the gander,” firsthand.

The European Parliament has voted to end visa-free travel for Americans within the European Union after the U.S. failed to agree to visa-free travel for citizens of five EU countries – Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Poland and Romania – as part of a reciprocity agreement. Typically Americans have enjoyed visa-free travel to Europe, but the vote calls for the travel agreement to be reversed within two months.  This means Americans will have to apply for extra documents for 12 months after the European Commission implements a “delegated act” to bring the change into effect.

The move will make it significantly harder for Americans to travel to Europe just as we head into peak travel season to the region.  It will also cause major headaches for American businessmen and women who travel to and from Europe on a regular basis. While the move might seem fair in terms of reciprocity, or lack thereof, Migration Commissioner Dimitris Avramopoulos warned of “consequences,” including potential “retaliation” and a drop in visitor numbers which have the potential to cause significant losses for the continent’s tourism industry.

Lawmakers are scheduled to meet on June 15th to try and resolve the issue, and vow to continue working on it until then.

“We will report on further progress made before the end of June and continue to work closely with both the European Parliament and the Council,” a commission spokeswoman said, referring to the council which groups the governments of the 28 EU member states.

A Commission official said discussions are ongoing with the U.S. administration “to push for full visa reciprocity,” but fell short of saying that immediate action would be taken.