Despite the Oscars just happening two months ago, word on the curb is that Samuel L. Jackson and Danny Glover, amongst others, will receive honorary golden statuettes during next year’s Governors Awards ceremony in January.

According to Deadline, Jackson, better known as one of the “hardest working actors in Hollywood,” and Glover will join Elaine May and Liv Ullmann in being presented with such a distinction. “We are thrilled to present this year’s Governors Awards to four honoree who have had a profound impact on both film and society,” Academy President David Rubin said. “Sam Jackson is a cultural icon whose dynamic work has resonated across genres and generations and audiences worldwide… Danny Glover’s decades-long advocacy for justice and human rights reflects his dedication to recognizing our shared humanity on and off the screen,” Rubin continued.

Jackson, who was only nominated for his role as Jules Winnfield in Quentin Tarantino’s classic flick Pulp Fiction, gave a trademark honest response when he lost to Martin Landau in 1995, saying, “Sh*t,” after the then-67-year-old actor was announced as the winner. And when you consider his status as being the actor with the highest career-film grosses of all-time, you too would wonder aloud why he has not been awarded an Oscar. 

Danny Glover will be given the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award, which honors his activism and philanthropy throughout his 43-year-long career. A member of the famed Vanguard Public Foundation, Glover is also a board member of the Algebra Project, the Black AIDS Institute, Walden House, and an active participant of the TransAfrica Forum. In 1999, Glover used his leverage as a former San Francisco cab driver to raise awareness about Black Americans being passed over for white passengers, which led to Operation Refusal being created to suspend the licenses of cabbies who favored white passengers over Black ones.

These honorees were chosen by the current expiring Board of Governors as one of its last official acts. Election results for the new Board were announced this week, and newly elected and returning members will take their place at the next meeting.