Connect with us

Black Listed

Octavia Spencer to Star in New ‘Murder, She Wrote’

Octavia Spencer

NBC is looking to revive one of the most successful series in TV history – Murder, She Wrote — with a brand new take from writer Alexandra Cunningham and producer David Janollari that has Oscar winner Octavia Spencer succeeding Angela Lansbury in the lead role of an astute amateur detective. The new hourlong project, which has received a put pilot commitment, is a re-imagining of the long-running CBS series. Described as a light, contemporary procedural in the vein of Bones or Fargo, it follows a hospital administrator and amateur sleuth (Spencer) who self-publishes her first mystery novel.

Set in a day where sensational headlines inundate the news, this woman’s avid fascination with true crime leads her to become an active participant in the investigations. Former

Desperate Housewives executive producer Cunningham is writing and will executive produce with Janollari. I hear Lansbury has been approached to be a part of the reboot. Universal TV, whose namesake predecessor produced the original series, is producing with studio-based David Janollari Entertainment.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Trending

Octavia Spencer Explores Her Dark Side in New Thriller, ‘MA’ (TRAILER)

Entertainment

Octavia Spencer: LeBron James Helped Me Get Equal Pay for Netflix Show

Entertainment

Octavia Spencer & LeBron James Team Up for Netflix Series About Madam C.J. Walker

Entertainment

Tami Roman to Star as Octavia Spencer’s Step-Mother in Upcoming Series

Entertainment

Advertisement
Connect
Newsletter Signup