While we applaud for every honor that our favorite industry players receives, there’s something about an award show that’s for us and by us that fills us with pride.

The nominees for the 48th Annual NAACP Image Awards have been announced and it captures some of the best and biggest names from this year. The two-hour live TV special will air Saturday, February 11, 2017 on TV ONE and will bring back Anthony Anderson as the host.

Beyoncé leads with 7 nominations; followed by her sister Solange Knowles with 5 nominations. Chance the Rapper and Kendrick Lamar are tied for 4 nominations while Donald Glover and Nate Parker are neck and neck with 3 nominations.

On the network side, ABC and HBO are leading the nominations in the television categories with 23 nominations and 14 nominations, respectively, thanks to the shows Black-ish and Insecure (we’re STILL talking about the season finale!).

Packed with some of our #EBONYPower100 honorees and EBONY cover stars, here is the full list of nominations.


·       Beyoncé

·       Viola Davis

·       Regina King

·       Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson

·       Chance the Rapper


Outstanding Comedy Series

·       Atlanta” (FX)

·       “black-ish” (ABC)

·       Insecure” (HBO)

·       Survivor’s Remorse” (Starz)

·        The Carmichael Show” (NBC)

 Outstanding Actor in a Comedy Series

·       Anthony Anderson – “black-ish” (ABC)

·       Don Cheadle – “House of Lies” (Showtime)

·       Donald Glover – “Atlanta” (FX)

·       Dwayne Johnson – “Ballers” (HBO)

·       Kevin Hart – “Real Husbands of Hollywood” (BET)

Outstanding Actress in a Comedy Series

·       Issa Rae – “Insecure” (HBO)

·       Keesha Sharp – “Lethal Weapon” (FOX)

·       Niecy Nash – “The Soul Man” (TV Land)

·       Tracee Ellis Ross – “black-ish” (ABC)

·       Uzo Aduba – “Orange is the New Black” (Netflix)

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series

·       David Alan Grier – “The Carmichael Show” (NBC)

·       Deon Cole – “black-ish” (ABC)

·       Laurence Fishburne – “black-ish” (ABC)

·       Miles Brown – “black-ish” (ABC)

·       Tituss Burgess – “Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt” (Netflix)

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series

·       Erica Ash – “Survivor’s Remorse” (Starz)

·       Laverne Cox – “Orange Is The New Black” (Netflix)

·       Marsai Martin – “black-ish” (ABC)

·       Tichina Arnold – “Survivor’s Remorse” (Starz)

·       Yvonne Orji – “Insecure” (HBO)

Outstanding Drama Series

·       “Empire” (FOX)

·       Power” (Starz)

·       Queen Sugar” (OWN: Oprah Winfrey Network)

·        This Is Us” (NBC)

·       Underground” (WGN America)


Outstanding Actor in a Drama Series

·       Kofi Siriboe – “Queen Sugar” (OWN: Oprah Winfrey Network)

·       Mike Colter – “Marvel’s Luke Cage” (Netflix)

·       Omari Hardwick – “Power” (Starz)

·       Sterling K. Brown – “This Is Us” (NBC)

·       Terrence Howard – “Empire” (FOX)

Outstanding Actress in a Drama Series

·       Jurnee Smollett-Bell – “Underground” (WGN America)

·       Kerry Washington – “Scandal” (ABC)

·       Rutina Wesley – “Queen Sugar” (OWN: Oprah Winfrey Network)

·       Taraji P. Henson – “Empire” (FOX)

·       Viola Davis – “How to Get Away with Murder” (ABC)

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series

·       Alfred Enoch – “How To Get Away With Murder” (ABC)

·       Jesse Williams – “Greys Anatomy” (ABC)

·       Joe Morton – “Scandal” (ABC)

·       Jussie Smollett – “Empire” (FOX)

·       Trai Byers – “Empire” (FOX)

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series

·       Amirah Vann – “Underground” (WGN America)

·       CCH Pounder – “NCIS: New Orleans” (CBS)

·       Cicely Tyson – “How To Get Away with Murder” (ABC)

·       Lynn Whitfield – “Greenleaf” (OWN: Oprah Winfrey Network)

·       Naturi Naughton – “Power” (Starz)



Outstanding Character Voice-Over Performance – (Television or Film)

·       Dwayne Johnson – “Moana” (Walt Disney Studios)

·       Idris Elba – “Finding Dory” (Walt Disney Studios)

·       Idris Elba – “The Jungle Book” (Walt Disney Studios)

·       Kevin Hart – “The Secret Life of Pets” (Universal Pictures)

·       Loretta Devine – “Doc McStuffins” (Disney Junior)

Kevin Hart Image Awards EBONY Magazine October November 2016
Click here to read an excerpt from our Oct/Nov cover star. [photo by Keith Major]

Melissa Kimble is the Senior Social Media Manager for the EBONY brand. An advocate for Black Creatives via #blkcreatives, you can connect with her on Twitter at @Melissa_Kimble.