Delta sigma theta

Today, the Devastating Divas of Delta Sigma Theta are celebrating 105 years of sisterhood!

Delta Sigma Theta was founded on January 13, 1913 by 22 collegiate women at Howard University. The innovators wanted not only to use their collective strength to encourage academic excellence but to also provide assistance to those in need. In March of 1913, the Founders of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. performed their first public act by participating in the Women’s Suffrage March in Washington, D.C.

Since its founding, more than 200,000 women have joined the organization. The sorority currently has 1,000 collegiate and alumnae chapters located in the United States, England, Japan (Tokyo and Okinawa), Germany, the Virgin Islands, Bermuda, the Bahamas, Jamaica and the Republic of Korea.

The wide range of programs that address education, health, international development, and strengthening of the African American family has involved over the years but continues to be driven by the organization’s Five-Point Programmatic Thrust: Educational Development, Economic Development, International Awareness & Involvement, Physical and Mental Health, and Political Awareness & Involvement.

Notable members include: Dorothy Irene Height, Roberta Flack, Dr. Betty Shabazz, Dr. Sadie Tanner Mossell Alexander, Shirley Chisholm, Soledad O’Brien, Mara Brock Akil and Dr. Nikki Giovanni

You may also like