Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., made history while expanding its global service reach when it recently chartered its first chapter in South Africa. The chapter, Psi Tau Omega, embraces Pretoria and Soweto. Its 15 members include business executives, attorneys, foundation leaders, educators and financial agents. Tracy Whitfield, an entrepreneur from Johannesburg, is the chapter's first president. Other members include Theolyn Blackwood, Letitia Campbell, Angela Deh, Pamela Graham, Monica Douglas Howard, Nozipo Mbere, Rhonda Lege Scott, Mokgadi Machaba-Abiodun, Cynthia Parrish, Louis Paulsen, Rufaro Rugara, Marcia Shaw, Cindy Thompson and Allison Watson

While the members represent a diverse cross section of professionals, they are all bound by their allegiance to Alpha Kappa Alpha's 105-year-old mission to “serve all mankind.”

Attorney Carolyn House Stewart, Alpha Kappa Alpha's international president declared that Psi Tau Omega would give life to Nelson Mandela's Call to Action by creating programs to assist the poor, the illiterate and the sick.

The journey to chartering the Sorority's inaugural chapter in South Africa began three years ago when women of note expressed a desire to establish an Alpha Kappa Alpha presence to fill a service void in South Africa. Cognizant of Alpha Kappa Alpha's 105-year record as a global service change agent, AKA's International Regional Director, Mrs. Evelyn Sample-Oates, worked with local leaders to identify strong candidates. Drawing from a pool of inactive members and those committed to the Sorority's mission, an impressive roster of prospects was identified. They resolved that the chapter would help uplift those in need while increasing the sorority's visibility.

To commemorate this milestone, a delegation of dignitaries journeyed to South Africa for a weekend of service and celebration, led by International President House Stewart and International Regional Director, Sample Oates. Other officials from the Sorority who attended were Adrienne PK Washington, South Eastern Regional Director, Schylbea Hopkins, former Great Lakes Regional Director and chairman AKA African School Task Force, Cynthia Howell, AKA executive Director, Patricia Watkins, Director corporate office membership department and Dr Jean Bailey, director of the Howard University Republic of South Africa.