The first series of Historically Black Colleges and Universities mascot Bobblehead series makes its debut today. The National Bobblehead Hall of Fame and Museum unveiled the special, officially licensed bobbleheads, which represent 13 different HBCUs around the country, and were designed to coincide with this year’s Black History Month. 

Standing on a base bearing its school’s nickname, each mascot bobblehead proudly wears its school colors in front of its school logo. The schools included in the first series are: Alabama A&M University Bulldogs, Alabama State University Hornets, Delaware State University Hornets, Florida A&M University Rattlers, Fayetteville State University Broncos, Grambling State University Tigers, Howard University Bison, Jackson State University Tigers, Morgan State University Bears, North Carolina A&T State University Aggies, North Carolina Central University Eagles, Norfolk State University Spartans, and Tuskegee University Golden Tigers. 

HBCU-Bobblehead Series. Image: courtesy of the National Bobblehead Hall of Fame and Museum.

Each bobblehead is individually numbered 1 through 2,023. The limited edition series is available through the National Bobblehead Hall of Fame and Museum’s online store.

There are more than 100 colleges in the United States identified by the U.S. Department of Education as Historically Black Colleges and Universities. The Higher Education Act of 1965 defines HBCUs as accredited higher education institutions established before 1964 whose “principal mission was, and is, the education of Black Americans.”  Today, HBCUs admit learners of all races. Among the prominent graduates of HBCUs are civil rights leader Martin Luther King Jr., United States Supreme Court Justice Thurgood Marshall, and United States Vice President Kamala Harris.

The National Bobblehead Hall of Fame and Museum, which opened in 2019, is located in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.